Our 40-acre site is now a municipal park at the picturesque confluence of the Bow and Elbow Rivers —called Moh’kinsstis in Blackfoot. Outdoors, Markings, an interpretive exhibit by award-winning sculptor, Jill Anholt, traces the outline of the original 1875 Fort site and stands as a reminder to the many different people who have made Calgary what it is today.
Our Interpretive Centre consists of the reconstructed 1888 Barracks, interactive museum exhibits about the history of Calgary, a Learning Centre for school programs and group experiences plus the 100-seat Burnswest Theatre.
The Hunt House
The oldest building in Calgary in its original location, the Hunt House was built in 1876 as part of the Hudson’s Bay Trading Post. Newly restored in 2015, the Hunt House is a designated Provincial Historic Resource which stands as a testament to the ongoing relationships between people, the land, and resources.